www.belgium.be Logo of the federal government

Botnet Eradication Project

What is Botnet Eradication?

 

The Centre for Cyber Security Belgium's Botnet Eradication project warns citizens and companies when they have a vulnerability on one of their computers. The CCB receives daily reports of infections in our country from its Cyber Security partners. This information is passed on to internet service providers so that they can link the IP address to their customers to warn them. The purpose of Botnet Eradication is to reduce the number of botnets in Belgium and prevent cyber-attacks.

What should I do if I have received an alert?

If you have received an alert from your internet provider, an infection has been found on your network. Find out which device is affected and take safety measures.

1. Which device?

A first step you can take is to find out exactly which device is infected. You can do this by thoroughly reading the description of the infection. Some infections are linked to specific operating systems or devices.  If you have multiple devices with the same operating system, we recommend running the security measures (updating, anti-virus scan, etc.) on all of them. A visitor who uses your network and has accessed your Wi-Fi may also be infected. If possible, notify this visitor.

2. Taking security measures

As a second step, it is best to follow the security measures described in the alert, for example by running a virus scan or an update.  Learn more about the different types of infections.

 

How does Botnet Eradication work?

Botnet Eradication

A botnet is a collection of computers that have been infected with malicious software (a virus) and are controlled by a hacker. One computer in such a botnet is called a bot. Hackers use botnets to carry out cyber attacks.

Botnet Eradication takes place in 5 steps.

  1. The CCB receives information about infected IP addresses from its cybersecurity partners.
  2. The CCB forwards this information to the internet provider.
  3. The ISP identifies the customers based on the IP address and time of day.
  4. The internet provider warns the customers.
  5. Customers take safety measures.     

Q&A

What kind of warnings does Botnet Eradication include?

Botnet Eradication sends out alerts related to infectionsInfections are viruses found on a network. So your computer is then infected with a virus. It is best to run an anti-virus scanner or take other security measures as soon as possible. Learn more about anti-virus scanners.

How do I find the infection in my network?

The internet provider only knows your external IP address. As a result, it is not possible to say which device is infected. The CCB therefore recommends that all devices be scanned with anti-virus softwareor that other security measures are taken.  Some infections only occur on a particular operating system (e.g. Windows, Android, iOS, etc.), which allows you to eliminate some devices. Learn more about the different types of infections. If you have multiple devices with the same operating system, we recommend running the security measures (updating, anti-virus scan, etc.) on all of them.

Where does the CCB get this information from?

The information about the infections is provided by various cybersecurity partners, both commercial and open-source information.

What information does the CCB have about me?

The CCB only knows the IP address and the timeof detection. The CCB is unable to determine who the IP address belongs to, which is why internet providers have to help. Internet service providers give IP addresses to their customers to grant them access to the Internet. They can find out who the customer is, by looking at the IP address and the time. The ISP can identify and alert the customers at the request of the CCB. Internet providers are legally not obliged to do this. Lastly, the CCB does not receive any information from the ISP about the affected customer.

Why is Botnet Eradication important?

Internet users are not always aware of the presence of botnets because this malware can go unnoticed. The Botnet Eradication project attempts to help internet users who are ignorant of the problem, by alerting infected internet users. The purpose of Botnet Eradication is to reduce the number of botnets in Belgium and prevent cyber attacks.

www.belgium.be Logo of the federal government

Botnet Eradication Project

Le projet « Botnet eradication », c’est quoi ?

Le projet « Botnet Eradication » est un projet du Centre pour la Cybersécurité Belgique (CCB) destiné à mettre en garde les citoyens et les entreprises lorsque l’un de leurs ordinateurs est atteint par une infection. Le CCB reçoit tous les jours de ses partenaires en cybersécurité des signalements d’infections qui planent sur notre pays. Il transmet ensuite ces informations aux fournisseurs d’accès à Internet pour qu’ils puissent lier l’adresse IP concernée à leurs clients et les mettre en garde. L’objectif du projet «Botnet eradication » consiste à réduire le nombre de botnets en Belgique et à prévenir de nouvelles cyberattaques.

J’ai reçu une mise en garde : que faire ?

Si vous avez reçu une mise en garde de la part de votre fournisseur d’accès à Internet, c’est qu’une infection a été constatée sur votre réseau. Cherchez l'appareil concerné et prenez des mesures de sécurité.

1. Quel est l’appareil concerné ?

Première chose à faire : déterminer l’appareil infecté. Pour ce faire, il suffit de lire attentivement la description de l’infection. Certaines infections sont liées à des systèmes d’exploitation ou appareils spécifiques. Si vous disposez de plusieurs appareils avec le même système d’exploitation, nous vous conseillons de prendre des mesures de sécurisation (mises à jour, scan antivirus, etc.) sur tous les appareils concernés. Il se peut qu’un visiteur qui a utilisé votre réseau et a eu accès à votre WiFi soit également contaminé. Veuillez si possible l’en avertir. 

2. Prendre des mesures de sécurité

Deuxième chose à faire : suivre les mesures de sécurités spécifiées dans la mise en garde, comme un scan antivirus ou une mise à jour. Pour plus d’informations sur les différents types d’infections et les mesures de sécurité à prendre, veuillez cliquer sur ce lien.

Comment fonctionne le projet "Botnet Eradication" ?

Botnet Eradication

Un botnet est un ensemble d’ordinateurs infecté par des malwares (virus) et commandé par un pirate informatique. Un ordinateur individuel piégé dans un tel ensemble est appelé « bot ». Les pirates informatiques se servent de botnets pour mener des cyberattaques.

Le projet « Botnet eradication » se déroule en 5 étapes :

  1. Le CCB reçoit des informations concernant des adresses IP infectées de la part de ses partenaires en cybersécurité.
  2. Le CCB transmet ces informations au fournisseur d’accès à Internet.
  3. Le fournisseur d’accès à Internet identifie les clients concernés sur la base de l’adresse IP et de l’heure de la détection.
  4. Le fournisseur d’accès à Internet met en garde les clients.
  5. Les clients prennent des mesures de sécurité.  

Q&A

Contre quoi la Botnet Eradication met-elle en garde ?

La Botnet Eradication envoie des mises en garde contre les infectionsLes infections sont des virus qui touchent un réseau ; votre ordinateur est donc déjà contaminé par un virus. Vous avez tout intérêt à effectuer au plus vite un scan antivirus.  Pour plus d’informations sur les scans antivirus, cliquez sur le lien suivant. 

Comment trouver l’infection sur mon réseau ?

Le fournisseur d’accès à Internet connaît uniquement votre adresse IP externe. Il n’est donc pas en mesure de distinguer l’appareil touché par une infection ou une vulnérabilité. Le CCB conseille donc de passer tous les appareils au crible d’un scanner antivirus (dans le cas d’une infection) ou de les mettre à jour. Certaines infections ne concernent qu’un type donné de système d’exploitation (par exemple : Windows, Android, iOS, etc.), ce qui permet d’exclure certains appareils. Si vous possédez plusieurs appareils fonctionnant sous le même système d’exploitation, nous vous recommandons de prendre les mesures de sécurité (mise à jour, scanner antivirus, etc.) sur tous ces appareils. Pour plus d’informations sur les différents types d’infections, cliquez sur ce lien.

Où est-ce que le CCB a trouvé ces informations ?

Divers partenaires en cybersécurité nous transmettent des informations sur les infections, tant les informations commerciales que les informations open source.

Quelles sont les informations dont le CCB dispose à mon sujet ?

Le CCB ne dispose que de l’adresse IP et de l’heure de la détection. Le CCB n’est pas en mesure de découvrir à qui appartient l’adresse IP, et c’est d’ailleurs la raison pour laquelle nous sollicitons l’aide des fournisseurs d’accès à Internet. Les fournisseurs d’accès à Internet distribuent en effet des adresses IP à leurs clients pour leur fournir un accès à Internet. À l’aide de l’adresse IP et de l’heure de la détection, ces fournisseurs sont en mesure de déterminer de quel client il s’agit. Le fournisseur d’accès à internet peut identifier et mettre en garde les clients à la demande du CCB. La loi n’oblige pas les fournisseurs d’accès à internet à le faire. Pour finir, le fournisseur d’accès à Internet ne nous transmet aucune information concernant le client en question.

La Botnet Eradication, pourquoi est-ce important ?

Les internautes ne sont pas toujours conscients de la présence de botnets sur leur(s) appareil(s), étant donné que ces malwares sont invisibles. Le projet Botnet Eradication entend pallier l’ignorance des internautes en les prévenant lorsqu’ils sont touchés par une infection. L’objectif de la Botnet Eradication consiste à réduire le nombre de botnets en Belgique et de prévenir de nouvelles cyberattaques.