www.belgium.be Logo of the federal government

Vulnerability Eradication Project

What is Vulnerability Eradication?

Vulnerability Eradication is a project of the Centre for Cyber Security Belgium (CCB) to warn citizens and companies when they have a vulnerability on one of their computers. The CCB receives daily reports from its Cyber Security partners about vulnerabilities in our country. This information is passed on to internet service providers so that they can link the IP address to their customers to warn them. The goal of Vulnerability Eradication is to reduce the number of vulnerabilities in Belgium and prevent cyber attacks.

What should I do if I have received an alert?

If you have received an alert from your internet provider, a vulnerability has been found on your network. Find out which device is affected and take safety measures.

1. Which device?

A first step you can take is to find out exactly which device is vulnerable. You can do this by thoroughly reading the description of the vulnerability. Some vulnerabilities are linked to specific operating systems or devices.  If you have multiple devices with the same operating system, we recommend running the security measures (updating, anti-virus scan, etc.) on all of them. A visitor who uses your network and has accessed your Wi-Fi may also be vulnerable. If possible, notify this visitor.

2. Taking security measures

As a second step, it is best to follow the security measures described in the alert, for example by running a virus scan or an update. Learn more about the different types of vulnerabilities.

 

 

How does Vulnerability Eradication work?

Vulnerability Eradication

Vulnerability Eradication takes place in 5 steps.

  1. The CCB receives information about infected IP addresses from its cybersecurity partners.
  2. The CCB forwards this information to the internet provider.
  3. The ISP identifies the customers based on the IP address and time of day.
  4. The internet provider warns the customers.
  5. Customers take safety measures.   

 

Q&A

Waarvoor waarschuwt Vulnerability Eradication?

Vulnerability Eradication stuurt waarschuwingen voor kwetsbaarhedenEen kwetsbaarheid is een zwakke plek in jouw netwerk die kan worden misbruikt. Kwetsbaarheden op jouw netwerk houden risico’s in zoals onder meer het verlies van gegevens of de mogelijkheid om jouw bedrijf reputatieschade of financiële schade aan te richten.

Je kan het best zo snel mogelijk veiligheidsmaatregelen nemen. Deze veiligheidsmaatregelen zijn afhankelijk van de kwetsbaarheid, meer informatie.

Hoe vind ik de kwetsbaarheid in mijn netwerk?

What kind of warnings does Vulnerability Eradication include?

Vulnerability Eradication sends out alerts related to vulnerabilitiesA vulnerability is a weakness in your network that can be exploited. Vulnerabilities on your network carry risks that include the loss of data or the possibility of damage to your company's reputation or financial loss.

It is best to take safety precautions as soon as possible. These security measures depend on the vulnerability, moreinformation.

How do I detect the vulnerability in my network?

The internet provider only knows your external IP address. As a result, it is not possible to say which device is vulnerable. The CCB therefore recommends that safety measures be taken on all devices.  Some vulnerabilities only occur on a particular operating system (e.g. Windows, Android, iOS, etc.), which allows you to eliminate some devices. Learn more about the different types of vulnerabilities. If you have multiple devices with the same operating system, we recommend running the security measures (updating, anti-virus scan, etc.) on all of them.

Where does the CCB get this information from?

The information about the vulnerabilities is provided by various cybersecurity partners, both commercial and open-source information.

What information does the CCB have about me?

The CCB only knows the IP address and the timeof detection. The CCB is unable to determine who the IP address belongs to, which is why internet providers have to help. Internet service providers give IP addresses to their customers to grant them access to the Internet. They can find out who the customer is, by looking at the IP address and the time. The ISP can identify and alert the customers at the request of the CCB. Internet providers are legally not obliged to do this. Lastly, the CCB does not receive any information from the ISP about the affected customer.

Why is Vulnerability Eradication important?

Internet users are not always aware of the presence of vulnerabilities because they can go unnoticed. The Vulnerability Eradication project attempts to help internet users who are ignorant of the problem, by alerting vulnerable internet users. The purpose of Vulnerability Eradication is to reduce the number of vulnerabilities in Belgium and prevent cyber attacks.

www.belgium.be Logo of the federal government

Vulnerability Eradication Project

Le projet « Vulnerability Eradication », c’est quoi ?

Le projet « Vulnérability Eradication » est un projet du Centre pour la Cybersécurité Belgique (CCB) destiné à mettre en garde les citoyens et les entreprises lorsque l’un de leurs ordinateurs a une vulnérabilité. Le CCB reçoit tous les jours de ses partenaires en cybersécurité des signalements de vulnérabilités qui planent sur notre pays. Il transmet ensuite ces informations aux fournisseurs d’accès à Internet pour qu’ils puissent lier l’adresse IP concernée à leurs clients et les mettre en garde. L’objectif du projet « Vulnérabilité Eradication » consiste à réduire le nombre de vulnérabiltés en Belgique et à prévenir de nouvelles cyberattaques.

J’ai reçu une mise en garde : que faire ?

Si vous avez reçu une mise en garde de la part de votre fournisseur d’accès à Internet, c’est qu’une vulnérabilité a été constatée sur votre réseau. Cherchez l'appareil concerné et prenez des mesures de sécurité.

1. Quel est l’appareil concerné ?

Première chose à faire : déterminer l’appareil concerné. Pour ce faire, il suffit de lire attentivement la description de la vulnérabilité. Certaines vulnérabilités sont liées à des systèmes d’exploitation ou appareils spécifiques. Si vous disposez de plusieurs appareils avec le même système d’exploitation, nous vous conseillons de prendre des mesures de sécurisation sur tous les appareils concernés. Il se peut qu’un visiteur qui a utilisé votre réseau et a eu accès à votre WiFi soit également contaminé. Veuillez si possible l’en avertir. 

2. Prendre des mesures de sécurité

Deuxième chose à faire : suivre les mesures de sécurités spécifiées dans la mise en garde. Pour plus d’informations sur les mesures de sécurité à prendre, veuillez cliquer sur ce lien.

Comment fonctionne le projet « Vulnerability Eradication »

Vulnerability Eradication

Le projet « Vulnerability Eradication » se déroule en cinq étapes :

  1. Le CCB reçoit des informations concernant des adresses IP infectées de la part de ses partenaires en cybersécurité.
  2. Le CCB transmet ces informations au fournisseur d’accès à Internet.
  3. Le fournisseur d’accès à Internet identifie les clients concernés sur la base de l’adresse IP et de l’heure de la détection.
  4. Le fournisseur d’accès à Internet met en garde les clients.
  5. Les clients prennent des mesures de sécurité.  

Q&A

De quoi nous avertit la Vulnerability Eradication ?

La Vulnerability Eradication envoie des avertissements en cas de vulnérabilités détectées. Une vulnérabilité est une faiblesse qui affecte votre réseau et qui peut être exploitée à des fins malveillantes. Les vulnérabilités dont souffre votre réseau pourraient être la porte ouverte à la perte de données, l’atteinte à la réputation de votre entreprise ou des dommages financiers. Vous feriez mieux de prendre des mesures de sécurité le plus vite possible. Ces mesures de sécurité seront fonction de la vulnérabilité, plus d’infos.

Comment puis-je détecter une vulnérabilité au sein de mon réseau ?

Le fournisseur Internet ne connaît que votre adresse IP externe. Il lui est donc impossible de se prononcer sur la vulnérabilité d’un appareil en particulier. C’est pourquoi le CCB recommande de prendre des mesures de sécurité sur tous les appareils. Certaines vulnérabilités ne surviennent que sur un système d’exploitation spécifique (par exemple Windows, Android, iOS, etc.). Si vous disposez de plusieurs appareils avec le même système d’exploitation, nous vous conseillons d’exécuter les mesures de sécurité (mises à jour, scan anti-virus, etc.) sur l’ensemble de ces appareils.

D’où le CCB tient-il ces informations ?

Les informations relatives aux vulnérabilités viennent de différents partenaires en cybersécurité. Il s’agit d’informations tant commerciales qu’open source.

De quelles informations me concernant le CCB dispose-t-il ?

Le CCB connaît uniquement l’adresse IP et le moment de la détection. Le CCB est incapable de retracer l’adresse IP concernée ; l’aide du fournisseur Internet est donc requise. Les fournisseurs Internet distribuent effectivement les adresses IP à leurs clients et leur donnent accès à Internet. À l’aide de l’adresse IP et du moment de la détection, ils peuvent donc retrouver la trace du client. Les fournisseurs Internet peuvent identifier et avertir le client à la demande du CCB. Ils n’y sont pas contraints par la loi. Enfin, le fournisseur Internet ne fournit au CCB aucune information sur le client concerné de quelque manière que ce soit.

En quoi la Vulnérability Eradication est-elle importante ?

Les internautes ne sont pas toujours conscients de la présence de vulnérabilités puisqu’elles restent indétectables. Le projet de Vulnerability Eradication tente d’éveiller la conscience des internautes vulnérables en les avertissant. L’objectif du projet est de réduire le nombre de vulnérabilités en Belgique et de prévenir les cyberattaques.